kundalini yoga + the chakra system

Kathryn McCusker will be hosting a series of five chakra-cleansing Kundalini workshops at triyoga this year. Ahead of the first event this Sunday 17th March, she explains more about this system and its links to Kundalini yoga.

Chakras are centres of consciousness. They are focal points of energy that have a direct, immediate and profound effect on our daily lives. The chakra system is integral to understanding how Kundalini energy works as it travels through the body.

The chakras absorb life force or ‘prana’ from the universe and distribute it through the ‘nadis’ (energy channels) to the nervous system, endocrine glands and circulatory system.

The first three chakras are known as the lower triangle and are connected to the physical needs of the body and of life. Chakras five, six and seven are known as the upper triangle and work with our spiritual and universal consciousness. The fourth chakra (heart) is the balance between the two triangles, where the shift happens from ‘me’ to ‘we’ (individual to universal). All the chakras are interconnected and work in unison.

If you imagine the body as a tree, the lower half of the body (navel down) are the trunk and roots and the upper half (navel upwards) are the branches and leaves. The lower triangle focuses on elimination and is balanced by the upper triangle chakras, which accumulate, create and refine. So, like a tree, if the root system is functioning properly then the leaves begin to grow and flourish.

The first five chakras are associated with the elements (tattvas) – earth, water, fire, air and ether – and the upper three chakras correspond to the subtle realm.

Each chakra has an important function and is correlated with different aspects of our lives, affecting our perceptions, feelings and choices. The seven major chakras interact with, and influence, our thoughts, moods and health.

Through Kundalini exercises and meditation we can explore the mysteries of the chakras, bringing to light ways in which we are blocked, and learning techniques to release our inner energy and full potential. The Kundalini opening or awakening of each chakra can be seen as the awakening of consciousness within ourselves.

To learn more about Kundalini yoga and the chakras, join Kathryn for her five-part chakra-cleanse series, taking place in March, May, September, November and December this year.

Across the workshops you will journey through all seven chakras, cleansing each one and setting intentions for the year. To deepen your understanding of the chakra system and to experience the overall benefits of the chakra cleanse, you are encouraged to come to all five workshops. No previous experience is required and Kathryn will be available for any queries throughout the journey.

For more information about Kathryn’s Kundalini workshops and to book, click here.

introductory offer

new to triyoga?

get started with a free online class

find out more

pilates equipment offer

new to equipment pilates?

get started with a 60 minute one-on-one starter assessment for just £50

buy now